Netflix won't be prolonging the misery of the Baudelaire Orphans beyond the source material as Neil Patrick Harris has revealed that A Series of Unfortunate Events will end after three seasons.

Speaking to TV Guide, NPH confirmed that next year's third run will bring this series of hugely entertaining events to a conclusion.

“We’re three seasons all in. We’ve intentionally been very truthful and factual and loyal to the books. We’ve added a few characters that aren’t in the books, we’ve added some songs that you probably couldn’t put into the books, but for the most part we’re sticking to the structure of what already worked.”

While it's not uncommon for a TV show or movie franchise that's based on a book to go beyond the published works, not every literary adaptation needs to run for eight seasons. A Series of Unfortunate Events was darkly tinged pleasant surprise when it launched last year, NPH was perfectly cast as Count Olaf, and I could listen to Patrick Warburton narrate just about anything.

The second season adapts books five to nine The Austere Academy, The Ersatz Elevator, The Vile Village, The Hostile Hospital, and The Carnivorous Carnival. Just like the first season, , each book is given two episodes which means we get a total of ten deliciously twisted episodes this time around.

Season three will take on the final four stories with The Slippery Slope, The Grim Grotto, The Penultimate Peril and The End. Joining the show for season two are Tony Hale, Lucy Punch, and there's a Doctor Horrible mini-reunion with Nathan Fillion popping up as Lemony Snicket's brother. All episodes of A Series of Unfortunate Events season arrives on Netflix on March 30.